6 Months Vari-Vores Challenge (or Weeks)

I had a crazy idea today. What if, instead of picking one diet to binge on for weeks or months at a time, why not cycle them through? One week be vegan, another week go Paleo or something like that. Then I thought, “Hey, people love weird food challenges and blogs about them. Let me think this through.” So I am. I think for the brave and adventurous, you can do a six month challenge. Six diets, one a month for six months. You have to learn to meal plan and cook.  Here they are: Organic Omnivore–

imgres-1

eat everything you want, but it just has to be certified organic. You may want to save this for last if you need to save up money. Not all grocery stores offer many options for organic foods. Do your research for local organic produce as well and farmers markets.

Paleo–

paleo-food-pyramid-v2

No dairy, no processed sugars (or processed anything really), no breads/starches. Eat like caveman. Yum. Huah.

Pescatarian–

images

Anything but hooved or clawed creatures. Mostly. It’s vegetarian, but with fish.

Herbivore/Vegetarian–

imgres-2

No fish. No meats of any kind. Everything else is OK.

Vegan–

imgres-3

No animal anything. No milk, no meats, no oils. No animal byproducts. Oreos are OK though. And Thin Mints.

Raw–

Raw-Food-Pyramid

Many celebs swear by the raw foods diet. No cooking anything. Au naturale. Raw meats, nuts, veggies, and fruits. No processed anything. (Does Juice count as processed? Do I have to juice the fruit?)

If you’re more nervous about costs and the bravery for undertaking such a venture, then try each one for a week. 7 days is easier to tackle for each one. (Wait. Where does coffee fit in?!)

Depending on what’s currently in the fridge/pantry and you usually eat, you may want to really consider which ones you want to start with. Paleo, Organic Omnivore, Pescatarian, Vegetarian, Vegan, Raw, seems the best order. But you may want to bookend your diets and do Paleo, Pescatarian, Vegetarian, Vegan, Raw, and Organic Omnivore. Begin and end with meat and leave the greens in the middle.

What do you think? Would you do it? How’d you start? Already do one of these? What are your experiences? What do you recommend?

One thought on “6 Months Vari-Vores Challenge (or Weeks)

  1. I’m not a big meat eater and if I had to I would eat fish or chicken. I like to eat vegetables and fruit. There is such a large variety and so many ways to prepare. From raw and juicing to sauted and plated. Beans and pasta for me would be hardest to remove from my diet. i sometimes just gotta have pasta and sauce. And water, gotta have water choices. So I am not sure which diet choice I am on, except I eat with healthy on my mind. That usually steers me in the right direction. I choose my food by asking myself what can my body or mind benefit from this. With educating myself of nutrition I can make better choices. This blog is helpful and one I will return to often. Thanks,

Leave a Reply

