Veganism: Day 1-3

As you may have heard, I’m attempting an experiment where I am trying veganism for the month. Going vegan has proven not so difficult yet, but it can be a bit costly. Veganism, as a recap, calls for vegetables, fruits, legumes, nuts, and anything else that does not include any animal products or byproducts.

I didn’t realize how many of the products I eat use some sort of animal products. Milk, whey, eggs, etc. I’m also a huge fan of chocolate and bread, so this is proving a bit difficult for my cravings. I’m managing. My friend whom I’m staying with is helping me stay on track for these first few days.

Day 1 Thursday:

Breakfast: Mimosas, pillsbury biscuits (surprisingly vegan) with pumpkin butter, vegan butter, and 1/2 a grapefruit with sugar. A ginger tea for a snack.

Lunch: peanut butter and strawberry jam sandwich on potato bread

Dinner: Stir fry with onion, snap peas, brown rice, garbanzo beans, and tofu with 2 shots of Makers Mark and a Sam Adams.

Day 2 Friday:

Breakfast: Biscuits (peanut butter, pumpkin butter, vegan butter), ginger tea, and strawberries dipped in sugar.

Lunch: Whole Foods buffet and lemon black tea. Vegan General Tso’s tofu chicken, roasted asparagus, green beans, artichoke hearts and olives, vegan crunch, and roasted sweet potatoes.

Dinner: Leftover whole foods.

Day 3 Saturday:

Breakfast: peanut butter sandwich on potato bread and almond milk

Lunch: wine tastings, pretzel (vegan?) some peanuts, and Thai food. Green curry and yellow curry attempted with tofu (too spicy), exchanged for Thai sweet and sour tofu and mixed vegetables with pineapple. Green tea

Dinner: Cherry coke from the movies and butter-seasoned popcorn (we weren’t sure if it was vegan b/c it didn’t actually have butter on it, but I couldn’t resist with the excessive smells. I had about 2 cups from a small bag of it.

I’m not doing well with increasing my water intake. I need to.

Today, I’m headed into the city to fly back home.

We’ll see what I can manage as a meal.

My weight is hovering around 133, but my sleep schedule has also been awfully screwed up lately, so it should regulate once vacation is over.

Leave a Reply

