Starting KETO!!

So, I’ve heard about this keto thing and have decided to give it 25 days starting today. Mainly, the keto is a high fat, extremely low carb diet with moderate protein intake. Since I’ve been fluctuating back and forth from 130, 131, 132, etc. and can’t seem to fully break the 130 mark even with heavy cardio and strength training, I’m changing the diet.

My caloric intake will still be around 1200. I’ve estimated my macros as such:

  • 100 grams of fat (9 cal/gram=900 calories, 75%)
  • 60 grams of protein (4 ca/gram=240 calories, 20%)
  • 15 grams of carbs (4 cal/gram=60 calories, 5%)

I’m going to focus on 15 “net” grams of carbs, but not go over 20 grams total.

I’m using MyFitnessPal to watch the percentages, but I can already tell this is going to be extremely difficult. Finding the right amount of healthy fats without going over caloric goals and maintaining keto without carbs… oh boy….

Anywhozzle, I did my 4-mile run with two miles at 5.6 and two at 5.5. Getting faster!! I also completed a leg workout that focused on upping my weights and a mini ab workout from bodybuilding.com.

IMG_1490

Leg Day!

  • Barbell Squat
    • 60lbs x 12
    • 65lbs x 10
    • 70lbs x 8
    • 75lbs x 6
  • Leg Press
    • 240lbs x 15
    • 280lbs x 12
    • 315lbs x 8
    • 345lbs x 6
    • 365lbs x 6
  • Calf Press on Leg Press Machine
    • 260 x 15
    • 300 x 10
    • 320 x 8
    • 340 x 6
  • Abductor Machine and Adductor Machine
    • 65 x 10
    • 70 x 8
    • 75 x 6

I modified the Core 1 Workout from Bodybuilding.com:

  • exercise ball pull in 3 sets 15 (did not expect these to be that hard but they were!)
  • weighted Russian twist 3 sets 15 (did it with a 3lbs dumbbell b/c I was exhausted already)
  • back extension 3 sets 15 (weighted with a 15lb kettlebell)
  • plank 3 sets, 1 min, 30 sec, 30 sec
  • knee raise on parallel bars 3 sets 15

Finished it off with 3 scrambled eggs with 1/4 cup cheese with some salt and pepper 😀

Leave a Reply

